Techdays 2016


Câmara Municipal de Aveiro




Call for papers

Motivation and Objectives

Bioinformatics is a prominent interdisciplinary research area that began with the advances in Molecular Biology, in particular related to the sequencing of several genomes, including the Human Genome Project. Beyond its critical role in the field of Molecular Biology, Bioinformatics nowadays is also an essential component in biomedical and clinical research, particularly in the development of early diagnosis techniques, in the study of complex diseases, in the analysis of the efficacy of drugs or in the strain improvement of economic interest.

The increasing amount and diversification of data being generated by several high-throughput experimental techniques, together with the growing complexity of the problems arising in its analysis, has called for novel and scalable methods to tackle the deluge of biomedical information. The development of these methods poses important challenges in fields such as Artificial Intelligence, Information Systems, Computer Science, Signal and Image Processing, Statistics, Optimization, Privacy and Security, among several others that are within the confluence of Informatics.

Topics of interest

The session welcomes submissions of papers in subfields of Bioinformatics related (but not restricted) to the following topics:

  • Mining biomedical data: algorithms & applications
  • Visualization techniques for biological data/networks
  • Inference/verification of regulatory/metabolic networks
  • Qualitative/Quantitative modeling and simulation of biological data
  • Molecular evolution and phylogenetic analysis
  • Semantic web and ontology-driven data integration methods
  • Protein/RNA structure, molecular docking and drug design
  • High-throughput data analysis: genomics, proteomics, transcriptomics or other omics
  • Biological data management/integration techniques

Organizing Committee

  • José Luís Oliveira, DETI/UA (Co-Chair)

Program Committee

  • José Luís Oliveira, DETI/UA (Co-Chair)
  • Sérgio Matos, DETI/UA (Co-Chair)
  • Alexandra Carvalho, IT/IST-UL
  • Alexandre P. Francisco, INESC-ID/IST-UL
  • Ana T. Freitas, INESC-ID/IST-UL
  • André Falcão, LASIGE/FC-UL
  • Arlindo Oliveira, INESC-ID/IST-UL
  • Armando Pinho, DETI/UA
  • Claudine Chaouiya, IGC
  • Francisco Couto, LASIGE/FC-UL
  • João A. Carriço, IMM/FM-UL
  • Joel Arrais, DEI/UC
  • Ludwig Krippahl, CENTRIA/FCT-UNL
  • Mário Silva, INESC-ID/IST-UL
  • Matthias E. Futschik, CBME/CCMAR/UAlg
  • Miguel Rocha, CCTC/UM
  • Pedro T. Monteiro, INESC-ID
  • Rui Camacho, FE-UP
  • Rui Mendes, CCTC/UM
  • Sara C. Madeira, INESC-ID/IST
  • Susana Vinga, IDMEC
  • Vítor Costa, FC-UP


Universidade de Aveiro


Instituto de Eng. Electrónica e Telemática de Aveiro


Instituto de Telecomunicações - Aveiro